Valvoline Raceway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

Sam Walsh wins dramatic USC Round Six at Valvoline Raceway

Sam Walsh won a dramatic USC NSW sixth round main event at Valvoline Raceway after a frightening crash involving leader Robbie Farr and fourth placed Ben Atkinson on the final lap saw the race declared.

Robbie Farr led going into turn three for the final time and looked to have the event all but in his grasp before he unexpectedly jumped the cushion and spun the #7 ECP car into the path of the rapidly closing Atkinson.

The impact knocked the tough Territorian unconscious and completely destroyed the once pristine Aeroflow #2 GF1.

Atkinson was later able to climb out of the car unassisted but received treatment and observation in the pits with the medical team.

Robbie Farr was able to climb clear from his badly damaged car though not without limping and ruing what might have been a certain USC victory.

“We’ve thrown a couple of these away so it was nice to get one back,” smiled Sam Walsh in the pits after the event, “I don’t think we really had much for Robbie on that last lap but anything can happen in these races. I’m proud of our team because we had a fast car all night, if it wasn’t for a tear off problem in our heat we’d have been on the money right the way through. Naturally I hope Benny’s OK.”

Troy Little led for most of the main event in the Steven Lynch owned #20 Pit Stop Autos Maxim but Farr then Walsh powered past him in the latter stages – not before a tremendous battle for podium ensued with Troy, Walsh, Atkinson, Jordyn Brazier and Max Dumesny.

With Farr and Atkinson’s cars both extensively damaged the results saw Walsh the winner from Little in second place and Max Dumesny third in what was a bruising affair for many teams.

Kyle Caunt flipped his #8 Fire Service Plus entry when he made contact with Robbie Farr as the pair entered turn one as Farr was lapping him.

Matt Geering flipped heavily in the #6 Cooldrive entry earlier in the race.

Max Johnston flipped as he was tagged by a half spun Marcus Dumesny at the start taking both young guns out of a great starting position (Marcus on the front, Johnston out of the second row) without even a start in the books.

The incident also took Darryl Campbell out with front-end damage on the Eagle Products #28.

It was unclear from the replay if Marcus Dumesny had received contact from the rear that caused him to half spin into the path of Johnston.

The final finishing positions were:

1. Sam Walsh (started 9th)
2. Troy Little (started on pole)
3. Max Dumesny (starting 13th)
4. James Thompson (starting 14th)
5. Jordyn Brazier (starting 7th)
6. Matt Smith (starting 12th)
7. Toby Bellbowen (starting 15th)
8. Jackson Delamont (starting 22nd)
9. Warren Ferguson (starting 21st)
10. Daniel Sayre
11. Mitchell Dumesny (starting 16th)
12. Chace Karpenko (starting 12th)
13. Grant Tunks
14. Mark Attard
15. Jimmy Matchett (starting 18th)
16. Brendan Scorgie (starting 23rd)
17. Ben Atkinson DNF
18. Robbie Farr DNF
19. Matthew Geering DNF
20. Kyle Caunt DNF
21. Matt Dumesny DNF
22. Darryl Campbell DNF
23. Max Johnston DNF
24. Marcus Dumesny DNF

Quick time for night was Sammy Walsh in Flight One and also overall with an 11.603s lap to edge out Max Dumesny’s 11.755 and James Thompson’s 11.756.

Top Ten for qualifying from 58 cars were:

1. Sam Walsh 11.603
2. Max Dumesny 11.755
3. James Thompson 11.756
4. Robbie Farr 11.759
5. Matt Dumesny 11.840
6. Brandon Rawlings 11.904
7. Thomas Jeffery 11.909
8. Daniel Sayre 11.942
9. Jordyn Brazier 11.982
10. Grant Tunks 12.014

Heat winners were Marcus Dumesny, Max Johnston, Troy Little and Darryl Campbell.

The Pole Shootout was a blinder with Matt Dumesny really firing up the crowd with some aggressive driving and a surprise win over Robbie Farr in one of his battles.

Max Johnston took care of Matt Dumesny narrowly only to then go down to Marcus Dumesny before Troy Little steadied the ship and won the final battle to score pole.

The B-Main top tens were:

1. Warren Ferguson
2. Brendan Scorgie
3. Scott Alexander
4. Michael Matchett
5. Bruce White
6. AJ Nash
7. Blake Skipper
8. Cordi O’Hehir
9. Adam Hourigan
10. Shane Sheedy

B-Main 2

1. Jackson Delamont
2. Matt Geering
3. Mark Blyton
4. Jason Gebert
5. Braydan Willmington
6. Thomas Jeffery
7. Marty Perovich
8. Jamie Matherson
9. Damien Hart
10. David Craft

The Legend Car racing was again ultra competitive with a huge 38-car field proving just how popular this class is becoming at Valvoline Raceway.

Sydney teenager Tyson Williams looked like he’d record his first ever main event win at Parramatta after leading for the majority of the 20-lap main event but contact between eventual winner and current QLD champion Kyle Angel saw damage to the left rear corner of the Williams #48 and the sixteen year old retire.

Angel was ecstatic to withstand the advances of the rapid Chris Peterson in second and the ultra-consistent Glenn Arnold coming home in third place.
Glen Philpott and Daniel Morris had waged a personal war throughout the night with a $200 bounty on whomever finished ahead of the other when they both started from the rear.

Philpott charged to fourth and looked to have the money sorted before Morris began a late race charge to nearly pickpocket the fourth position off Philpot’s #88.

The Late Model category boasted a strong field of NSW cars and the livewire Healesville duo of Cameron Pearson and Daniel Barton.

Heat One went to Daniel Barton from exciting rookie Brad Giffen in second, Cameron Pearson third, Ryan Fenech fourth and Ben Nicastri rounding out the five.

Heat Two saw Darryl Grimson come home first ahead of Todd Bayley in second, Jessica Cassidy third, Clayton Pyne fourth and Ed Borg fifth.

Heat Three was a win for David Doherty over Ryan Fenech in second, Brad Giffen third, Cameron Pearson fourth and Wade Carter rounding out the five.

The final heat saw victory for Darryl Grimson again over Jessica Cassidy second, Clayton Pyne in third, Todd Bayley in fourth, Katelyn Hickey fifth and Ed Borg rounding out the sixth.

Unfortunately due to the last corner Sprintcar crash and the imminent Demolition Derby the Late Model main event could not be conducted due to the time curfew at Valvoline Raceway.

Valvoline Raceway apologizes to the Late Model teams and supporters for this inconvenience.

The next event is scheduled for this Saturday, December 3 and features Speedcars, Wingless Sprints, AMCA Nationals and Compact Speedcars.

Ends release…

Upcoming Events