False Valvoline Raceway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

Chadwick charges to back to back Australian Wingless Sprint title

South Australian live-wire Joel Chadwick was the ecstatic back to back winner of the 2018 Australian Wingless Sprint Championship at Sydney's Valvoline Raceway last Saturday night.

The talented Adelaide racer made a clean sweep of the main events after winning the preliminary feature on Friday night as well.

Veteran Dubbo racer Mark Blyton led the charge of the NSW racers with fellow statesman Dean Thomas home in third.

By virtue of his second place, remarkably Blyton scored the best finish for a NSW driver in the ten year history of the event.

The 35 lap final had everything, including a rain affected two lap sprint to the finish which had the crowd very entertained.

It has been described be many as the most intense Wingless Sprints race ever witnessed at the venue.

At the fall of the chequered flag it was South Australian Joel who took the win to record his second Australian Championship in a row.

In what was a good representation from the host state with Dean Thomas finished third after falling back on the final restart to fifth and fighting his was back to third.

Jason Bates came from eleventh to finish fourth, Troy Carey recorded an eighth place finish and Kyle Mock impressed plenty to finish a solid tenth. Luke Sayre finished eleventh, Peter Granger thirteenth and Daniel Flood fourteenth.

Although not finishing the event, David Eggins was the best of the Northern Rivers (NSW) drivers recording a twenty second place finish.
Official placings in the Championship A-Main:

1. Joel Chadwick
2. Mark Blyton
3. Dean Thomas
4. Jason Bates
5. Luke Redpath
6. Travis Millar
7. Andrew Hibbert
8. Troy Carey
9. Daniel Hartigan
10. Kyle Mock
11. Luke Sayre
12. Clint Mclaren
13. Peter Granger
14. Daniel Flood
15. Glenn Wright
16. Matthew Symons
17. Luke Weel
18. Glenn Watts
19. Anthony Tapley
20. Michael McDonald
21. Matthew Iwanow DNF
22. David Eggins DNF
23. Peter Logue DNF
24. Jeff Thomas DNF

The NSW Wingless Sprints would like to take the opportunity to thank the following for what has been described as one of the best Australian Titles held.

- The AWSR
- All officials who without their hard work and dedication, none of this would be possible.
- The host venue – Valvoline Raceway
- Karen Skipper for her involvement in organsing the Calcutta and her help throughout the weekend.
- And lastly all 93 competitors who made this one memorable weekend.
The 2019 Australian Title will be held at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway and the NSW Wingless Sprints wish the very best of luck to the Victorian Club for 2019.

Upcoming Events