Murray Bridge Speedways news.


A stout field of 40 Sprintcars has entered this Saturday night’s “Old School” Lord Mayor’s Cup at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway as the first chance to looms to get some laps in before the Ultimate Sprintcar Championship NSW rounds fire up in a few week’s time.

The format is a throw-back to a different era in the sport where Sprintcar drivers didn’t have to worry about qualifying (or time trials as it was called) you had another heat after your first one (if you screwed up your first one) and you had the fastest drivers come from the rear in the A-Main.

That’s what we’re all about in this pre-USC hit-out this Saturday night.

Not surprisingly many of the USC stars as using “Old School Night” as a way to get dialled in before the main part of the USC Championship in October.

Plenty of interest will centre around Jessie Attard who returns to Sydney after significant USA competition where he impressed many fans on the East and West Coast of America against the brutal Pennsylvania Posse and the World of Outlaws.

The talented third generation racer has shown plenty of promise in America and his experience and speed overseas will undoubtedly transfer into Australia where it’s expected he’ll go very close to scoring his maiden VR feature victory and that may open the floodgates for more.

Attard is also a factor in the exciting Hi-Tec Oils Ultimate Speedway Challenge which kicks off on October 19 at VR and travels also to sister Speedways Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway and Murray Machining & Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway.

He has been fast in the last two seasons and this season will unquestionably be his best yet in the #53 Supreme Poultry entry.
There’s an exciting injection of fresh faces in this Saturday night’s line-up as well with a number of drivers making their Valvoline Raceway 2019 debut or making one of their first few appearances including Jakes Baines in the DTM Motorsport #4, Ashleigh Jack in the AFR #NS16, second generation racer Lachlan Caunt in the #N9.

Daniel Sayre's young brother Luke "Noodle Cup" Sayre in the #N4, Luke Geering in the #NS97, Victorian sedan car standout Mark Carlin in the #VA12, Zac Pacchiarotta in the #NS42, Victorian Ryan Davis in the #V95, NZ expat Brett Sullivan in the #NZ69, Victorian livewire Paul “Cyclone” Solomon in the #V7 and former Legend Car and Litre Car racer Dan Morris in the #N59 to name a few.

Defending USC NSW Champion Sam Walsh and “Rocket / Aeroflow Stablemate” Ben Atkinson will iron out the bugs as will former USC and track champions James Thompson and Troy Little along with regular VR frontrunners Warren Ferguson, Jeremy Cross, 31-season veteran Grant Tunks and Central Coast masher Alex Orr.
This Saturday night’s action at Valvoline Raceway, presented by Aussie Forklift Repairs, will kick off at the early time of 5pm with hot laps commencing from 4.

Entries for Saturday night include:
D2 Ben Atkinson
N4 Luke Sayre
NS4 Jake Baines
N6 Matt Geering
Q6 Michael Rowell
V7 Paul Solomon
N9 Lachlan Caunt
N10 Luke Stirton
N12 Thomas Jeffrey
VA12 Mark Carlin
NS15 Daniel Cassidy
N16 Daniel Sayre
NS16 Ashleigh Jack
N20 Troy Little
N22 James Thompson
N30 Darren Saillard
N32 Warren Ferguson
NS35 Kaitlyn Anthony
N39 Jeremy Cross
N41 Jeff Lawler
NS42 Zac Pacchiarotta
N43 Alex Orr
N52 Mark Attard
N53 Jessie Attard
N54 Grant Tunks
NS56 Kris Johnson
NS57 Brendan Scorgie
N59 Dan Morris
N64 Shane Sheedy
N65 Brenden Rallings
N68 James Duckworth
NZ69 Brett Sullivan
NS71 Michael Stewart
N72 Coby Elliott
N73 Darren Salmon
N83 Peter O'Neill
N92 Sam Walsh
V95 Ryan Davis
NS97 Luke Geering

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Upcoming Events