Murray Bridge Speedways news.


Daniel Sayre, Matt Jackson and Nathan Disney all kicked off their 2019/2020 season in style with main event success in the Sprintcar, Speedcar and Late Model main events respectively tonight at Valvoline Raceway.

For Sayre it was his first Sprintcar main event win in his four years of Sprintcars to date and it came, appropriately, on the night that his sponsor and employers Aussie Forklift Repairs sponsored the Lord Mayor’s Cup season opener.

Sayre started from the eighth row of the 30-lap main event In the AFR / Endeavour Liquid Waste Maxim and quickly began passing cars.

“I felt really good right from the green light,” he admitted later, “the car was fast all night. We were fast in hot laps; we went forward in the heat race and I was a bit surprised how quickly we passed cars early in the A-Main. Usually when you’re that fast that early you worry that you won’t be quick at the end, but the car was fast right until the end.”

Sayre took the #16 car to the lead inside the last ten laps of the 30-lap feature and never looked back.

“It was a huge relief to be honest. I’ve been down that road before where I’ve led the race until the last lap so I just wanted to get it done. I’m thrilled for all our team and family, it’s really cool to get the win on Aussie Forklifts night.”

Sayre took his maiden win to lead home Alex Orr in second place and Matt Geering in third.

Proud new father Michael Stewart finished fourth whilst Victorian Ryan Davis recorded one of his best Valvoline Raceway results to come home in fifth ahead of Jeremy Cross sixth, James Thompson seventh, rookie Lachlan Caunt eighth, Jessie Attard ninth and James Duckworth rounding out the top ten.

Aussie Forklift Repairs Lord Mayor’s Cup Sprintcars A-Main official placings:

1. Daniel Sayre
2. Alex Orr
3. Matt Geering
4. Michael Stewart
5. Ryan Davis
6. Jeremy Cross
7. James Thompson
8. Lachlan Caunt
9. Jessie Attard
10. James Duckworth
11. Brendan Rallings
12. Jakes Baines
13. Dan Morris
14. Luke Stirton DNF
15. Shane Sheedy DNF
16. Grant Tunks DNF
17. Kris Johnson DNF
18. Bruce White DNF
19. Luke Sayre DNF
20. Troy Little DNF
21. Brett Sullivan DNF
22. Jeff Lawler DNF
23. Brendan Scorgie DNF
24. Daniel Cassidy DNF

Matt Jackson scored another career feature win with success in the 12-lap final to lead home Daniel Paterson scored his best Valvoline Raceway result with second place and Robert Mackay home third.

Jackson took the new look #97 Diamond Air-Conditioning / Valvoline / Allstar Fire Protection #97 Hawk powered Spike to victory after starting on the second row.

“Two laps in we started to lose power,” Jackson admitted, “I was really worried we wouldn’t get to the finish to be honest. We had two really good laps at the start but then the battery started to lose charge and we pretty well battled home.”

Jeffery Burns came home in fourth place and Sydney speedway veteran Alan Day finished fifth.

“The Newcastle Nightmare” Nathan Disney took out line honours in the Late Model feature scoring victory in the #11 Lake Macquarie Sheet Metal / Ansens Tyre & Auto / DMS Towing / NJD Auto Service Rocket Chassis after starting on the second row.

“When we practiced last weekend I knew we had a fast car,” Disney admitted after the victory tonight, “and that speed continued on tonight. Rocket Chassis have helped us a lot with this car this season and we’re really starting to get a handle on it. We didn’t get a win at Parramatta last season to it’s nice to get one tonight and start the season off on a high.”

Disney led home Ben Nicastri in second place, Daryl Grimson third and Michael Hickey home in fourth place.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Upcoming Events

  • King of the Clay - USC Sprintcars Rd15
  • Sprint Fest - Old School Sprintcars (Old School Format)
  • Sprintcar March Madness - USC Sprintcars Rd16
  • USC Sprintcars Grand Final